Shhhhhh……

… don’t tell anyone, but I cheated on my diet when I was in Hayward last weekend.

Cruising down Mission Blvd Saturday afternoon, I was starving and there just wasn’t a healthy meal in sight. So the Pupuseria y Taqueria Los Cocos was the obvious next best thing.

Trying to keep the fall from grace a moderate one, I limited myself to a couple of pupusas revueltas. They were cheap ($2.25 each) large and very tasty.
pupas 1
After I got home, I checked out the Yelp reviews on the place, which were surprisingly negative – it got barely over 3 stars. Reading the comments, however, it seems like many of the complaints had to do with rude and/or negflectful service. I did not have that problem, however. The counter person was friendly and responsive and our food arrived fairly promptly. (In my experience, Salvadoran food tends to be a bit on the slow side.)
Ext
As I said, the pupusas were very good – although I suppose that given the fact that I have pretty much been eating non-stop vegetables for the past several weeks, just about anything that wasn’t green would have seemed awesome.
pupas sm(By the way, as far as I can tell, the PyT Los Cocos has no relation to the venerable and excellent Los Cocos on Fruitvale in Oakland, although I could be wrong.)

Pupuseria y Taqueria Los Cocos
29617 Mission Blvd
Hayward, CA 94544

(510) 889-9919

Leave a Reply

